Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Aren’t Set In/Inspired By The Western World

And now for the t5w for this week!

The Top 5 Wednesday is created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @Thoughts On Tomes. You can find the Goodreads group here.

–I know this is a long title, but I couldn’t figure out how else to word it and still get the point across. Talk about books that are set outside of the Western World (so outside of North America and Western Europe) or if they are SFF, books that aren’t inspired by those places (so no medieval setting fantasy!)ย 

1. The Lunar Chronicles

Of course I’d start with TLC because I LOVE the series! This series starts in New Bejing, and the second book is set in France, and between France and China there’s some flying in outer space ๐Ÿ™‚

2. The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner takes place in Afghanistan, and I have yet to read it but I don’t have it at home so yeah. I will read it, I promise. 3. Any Scandinavian Thriller

3. Any Scandinavian thriller

I have no idea if Scandinavian books are set in the Western World ย actually, which is why I named it like this. I love these books though, they’re a lot better than American thrillers (in my opinion!)

 

I can absolutely not think of any other books that aren’t set in the Western World, so if you have any recommendations, let me know!

-Luci


Find me on:

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Aren’t Set In/Inspired By The Western World”

Leave a Reply

