Top 5 Wednesday: Books without romance

Hey there! I’m here again with a T5W!

The Top 5 Wednesday is created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @Thoughts On Tomes. You can find the Goodreads group here.

— A few (very, very few) people complained about the “shipping” topics lately, so I thought it would be good to talk about books that don’t have a romantic subplot! This is a really hard one, so if you can’t find any, you can talk about some where the romance is super super minor. Like barely mentioned… at all…

Whoo! I’m excited for this one, although I can say I haven’t really read a lot of non-romance books so far haha. I’m gonna do my best though!

1. The Novice – Taran Matharu

Of course I’d include my most recent discovery in the bookworld: The Novice! This book is really good and has everything I need, minus the romance. I don’t reallyΒ needΒ romance to like a book so that’s good :P) You can find my recent review here

 

2. The Riyria Revelations- Michael J Sullivan

18885822-_sx540_

One of my favorite series from years ago! I stopped reading them once, and recently found out more books had been published πŸ˜€ Now, I don’t know if the latest books have no romance too but as far as I remember, the first books in this series do not!

3. Ranger’s Apprentice – John Flanagan

 

I’ve only read the first three books so far (my library didn’t have the other books…) but they also had no romance at all and it wasΒ glorious.

4. It’s Kind Of A Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

I’ve seen the movie (yeah I know, saw the movie before I read the book but in my defense, I DIDN’T KNOW THERE WAS A BOOK TILL I WATCHED THE MOVIE), and there is a girl around Craig, but there’s no romance. It’s basically a book/movie about recovering from/learning about depression, and usually with something like that, there’s not really any romance involved. I reviewed the movie here if you’re interested.

5. The Knife Of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness

2118745

A series where there is a girl, and a boy, and they’re basically the main characters but they’re also fourteen years old and trying to have a life and it’s great. Some may say that this is a kid’s book, but I really enjoyed it too!

And that’s all already! Do you like books with or without romance more? Have you read any others than the ones I named here? Recommend me some!

-Luci


Find me on:

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books without romance”

Leave a Reply

