Book review: The Novice

Hey there! I recently finished The Novice, and it was so good! I had joined a giveaway and won this book, and though I’d never heard of it, I was excited. The person holding the giveaway said it was one of her favorite books, and now I see why. Find her here on Instagram!

Title: The Novice

Author: Taran Matharu

Goodreads link: The Novice

91decevqr2l

Summary: Fletcher is just a regular blacksmith apprentice until he discovers to have the ability for summoning demons. After being accused of a crime in his hometown, he runs away to the Adept Military Academy. There, he is put through heavy training as a battlemage to fight in the Hominum Empire’s war against the orcs. Surrounded with friendships and betrayals, the only one he can really trust is his own demon, Ignatius.

When I started this book, I was immediately hooked. Fletcher, who is just a simple boy, turning into a summoner, I love that kind of thing.

Fletcher himself is someone I really liked, even though some of his decisions could’ve been made better of course. He grows stronger throughout the book, and at the end, he really does believe in himself.

The friendships he makes along the way are another thing, at first I really liked Othello, and then towards the end, it seemed like he was betraying Fletcher and for a moment I thought I had it all wrong. Same goes for Sylvia to be honest. The writing is so well done that sometimes I didn’t know what to think and who to trust any more, which really makes reading a lot more fun. There’s a new surprise in almost every new chapter.

The ending made me immediately want to read the second and 3rd book, but sadly I don’t have those (yet). I might buy them soon, but I’m not sure because I’ve bought a lot lately and after the festival and with my holiday coming up soon I am quite broke haha 😛 I will, however, update you as soon as possible when I got them!

Overall this book was really good, and I’d recommend it to anyone of any age. It’s kind of like Percy Jackson and Ranger’s Apprentice, because The Novice is a really enjoyable adventure book, but also appropriate for any age to read 🙂 As far as I’ve read, there is also little to no romance, which makes it even better! Sometimes I just want a book without all the lovey-dovey but with the action and this book is exactly that!

Buy this book here on Book Depository!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

-Luci


Find me on:

One thought on “Book review: The Novice”

Leave a Reply

