Book review: The Map of Bones (The Fire Sermon 2)

Hey! I said I was going to review this book as soon as I finished reading, and well, that’s not true. I literally finished this book a month ago and I haven’t had any time to write a review until now, so let’s get on with it!

Read my review of The Fire Sermon here

Title: The Map of Bones

Author: Francesca Haig

Goodreads link: The Map of Bones

25814363

Summary: The Island has been destroyed by the Council and the Resistance is being systematically dismantled. Cass, Piper and Zoe are on the run after a deadly confrontation at the Silo. While Cass’ visions continue to plague her, she now also has to manage survivor’s guilt: guilt over the actions of her twin brother Zach, guilt over the deaths of the people on the Island, and guilt over the death of Kip. However, life goes on and there has a lot to happen before Cass can finally stop Zach in his actions.

Buy The Map of Bones here!

This book was more of the running away/running toward, just as in the first book and somehow, it’s still awesome. A lot has happened in the last chapter of the first book, Cass now has to live on without Kip and her brother is still out there, murdering people. Just as in the first book, every time Cass meets someone new my mind goes like “will this be a possible friend or a possible murderer?”

Cass has mentally grown a lot, where in the first book everything already sucked, the second book was even worse. Kip is dead, and something happened to all the Omega kids she and Kip used to care for while on the run too. Her visions are not away, and overall, it seems to be hard living the life she is.

Piper is supportive as always, mostly where Zoe is not. I didn’t understand Zoe at all in the beginning, I mean, I know Cass’ screaming is annoying when you want to sleep, but she didn’t choose to have those visions either. However, later in the book Zoe explains a lot about her (and Piper’s) past, and it does clarify a lot of things.

While I didn’t particularly like the part of the book where they were just on the run and I didn’t know where to yet, I must admit that once I got through, I couldn’t stop reading any more. This book is awesome where most of the time, second book in trilogy’s are a bit off, a bit of a time killer. This book isn’t any of that, because, again, a lot of surprising things are revealed, some also concerning things that happened in the first book.

The third book will be done somewhere this year, and I hope to read it soon after. I’m curious as for how this trilogy will end and what more will happen in the third book.

Have you read this series, or planning on reading them?

-Luci


Find me on:

 

Leave a Reply

