Book review: The Silence of the Sea

Hello! I hope you all are doing well this Friday. I am ready for the weekend! But, before that, I will talk to you about this book I read a while ago. I mentioned it before in my July wrap-up, but I never actually made a review post about it, while it does deserve a full review. So here it is 🙂

 

Title: The Silence of the Sea

Author: Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

Goodreads link: The Silence Of The Sea

25079833

Summary: When an abandoned yacht that came from Lisbon crashes in the haven of Reykjavik, no one knows what happened. The yacht was supposed to come with the crew, and a family: mother, father and twin daughters. Their other, younger, daughter stayed with her grandparents in Reykjavik, too young to go on such a holiday. The grandfather hires in Thóra Gudmundsdottir, a lawyer, to investigate it, and soon she finds herself coming across more mystery than she expected: the yacht was told to be cursed, what happened to Karitas, the former owner? And whose body is it that drove in near the yacht?

I usually don’t really read any thrillers, not because I don’t like them, but because I can never seem to find the right ones. My father brought this one back from the library and while he was reading another book, out of curiosity I started reading this one. And man, it took my breath away.

Thóra is a really strong character, and she knows how to do her work. I loved her work-relationship with Bella, and Matthew made it even better.

The chapters went logically, one with what happened on the boat, and one in the present where Thóra has to find all the answers somehow. What didn’t happen, however, is that the chapters that took place on the boat didn’t spoil it for the chapters in the present, which is satisfying. I hate to read a book where I already know how it ends but the characters in the book do not.

The ending was a little bit expected, but still so damn good. It had a twist that I didn’t see coming, and I absolutely loved it. The ending finally explained all my questions throughout the book.

This book is apparently part 6 of a series about Thóra Gudmundsdottir, so I hope to be reading the other books too!

Overall I just love thrillers, and especially the Scandinavian, and now also Icelandic, writers are really good at writing them. The only problems I had were the pronunciations of the names 😛

Do you read any thrillers, or anything in the not-young-adult genre? 

-Luci


Find me on:

One thought on “Book review: The Silence of the Sea”

Leave a Reply

