T5W: Favorite underrated books

The Top 5 Wednesday is created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @Thoughts On Tomes. You can find the Goodreads group here.

–Give some love to those books that aren’t as widely talked about. Those hidden gems. Those books that maybe used to be popular but people have forgotten about and they still deserve some love.

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

81wslybtfyl

It’s not Young Adult, it isn’t New Adult either, it’s the hard truth and I love it. This book is absolutely one of my favorite reads ever. It’s really sad at times, but the ending made it all well. It’s about the difference between “black” and “white” people in the 60’s, and everything is as it is, until one white woman decides that it isn’t normal. I really recommend you to read it! This is also one of the few books where I loved the movie almost as much as the book (which is a really good thing).

2. The Riyria Chronicles by Michael J. Sullivan

18885822-_sx540_

I have no idea if they really are as underrated as I think, but I never hear anyone about them. And they’re awesome, that’s for sure. They remind me a little bit of the Ranger’s Apprentice books, now that I think about it.

3. Millennium by Stieg Larsson

IMG_20160815_212511

An original Swedish series, but translated (thank God) to English. Amazing series full of action and plottwists. And another series where the movies were as good as the books! If you’re going to watch them, please do pick the Swedish movies and not the American ones… I reviewed this series here if you want to know more about them!

4. Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

Another one where I’m not entirely sure if it really is that underrated, but nonetheless awesome! It’s a little bit standard YA at times, and it’s a lot like the Hunger Games but at the same time, it’s not. It’s a really interesting read if you liked the Hunger Games.

5. The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

ffeqa9w

Yeah, I know, I also talked about them in last week’s Book Traveling Thursday, but I just love it so much! This series is not necessarily Young Adult (there are 4 books categorized as  “Young Adult”), but there is a lot of humor in it! And you know what the good thing is? There’s about 7 “series” in this series, and you can read them in a completely random order and still understand them. Besides, these are perfect light reads if you simply like fantasy.

6. Maaike en Domenico/Maya und Domenico by Susanne Wittpennig

a1a2a882f4c53cc4fac964940f04f842

Okay, this is actually not fair because this sereis is orignally German and only translated to Dutch. But God, it’s so beautiful, which is why I made it no.6. If you’re Dutch, German, or can read those languages, please read this series. It’s so worth it!

I really hope these books were really underrated because otherwise it’d kind of ruin the idea of this post. However, have you read any of these? Have I said already that I recommend you really do so? 😛 Okay, enough joking. Recommend me some underrated books though, I love recommendations, and especially underrated books because that makes the recommendation always more personal 🙂

-Luci


Find me on:

Leave a Reply

