T5W: Favorite polarizing books

I’m incredibly tired, since last Monday (January 16th) was my birthday and I slept for about 5 hours and then had to work half of the day and had a concert during the evening and got home at 2 am. However, I’m still alive, the concert was incredible and I had an amazing day 🙂

The Top 5 Wednesday is created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @Thoughts On Tomes. You can find the Goodreads group here.

–These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.

  1. Legend series by Marie Lu8f7c8bc2f2dd5effae2cf0c6ae84f30e

As far as I know, this is one that everyone just loves. The only slightly negative comments I’ve seen were about some typical YA cliches (love triangles and such), so that’s good! I absolutely loved this trilogy (I reviewed them here, here and here)

 

2. Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

48e1b186c7c4f4f67187a889c348a9f3

Here, the opinions are more diverse. We have one part (that I’m with) that loved the series, and the other part just hated it. I can kind of understand them though, if you don’t like these kind of books, this is a no-go.

 

3. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

0c6a5d27841ff499ce18ce5ca9463fa8

Here, the opinions are, again, diverse. But now we have one part that loved it but though the last 3 books were unnecessary, the part that thought all 6 books were awesome, and the part that thought none of them were awesome. I personally was about to give up at the 4th book because I absolutely couldn’t get through with it, but at the end I was glad I went on. This series was quite amazing. Maybe a bit cliché at times, but hey, you can’t have everything, right?

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

This is the book that almost everyone loved… Almost. I read a lot of comments that said this book was far from the truth and that the writing was terrible, as were the characters and how this book shouldn’t even be ranked so high (I’m sure there will always be comments like that, which I don’t understand. Why so much hate? Why won’t you just let people enjoy something, even if you don’t like it??). I think those people thought this book would make them feel like they were reading about themselves (like a lot of people had), but that wasn’t what happened. Or it was something else I don’t know. However, I really liked this book. I reviewed it here.

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

IMG_20160805_013939

Now this book was kind of hard to read at the beginning because the writing style was completely different from what I was used to. But once I got through that, this book was really enjoyable and I liked it a lot…. And then came the end and I screamed because I had definitely not seen that coming. This is a book that you can either love or hate. There’s almost no “I did like it, but not that much” possible. I have a feeling the one side is like me, completely in shock and the other side is like “… I have no words for how much worse this book got after that plottwist” (at least, that’s what I heard and read). I reviewed it here.

 

Did you love these books or did you absolutely despite them? Please tell me, I’m really curious! 

-Luci


Find me on:

Leave a Reply

