Book review: Bloodlines

Since you all know I have read the Vampire Academy series, review can be found here, and I absolutely loved it. So, I had only one wish: to read the Bloodlines series. I knew they weren’t about Rose and Lissa any more (sadly), but on the other side, Sydney’s story is something I was curious to know too!

Title: Bloodlines

Author: Richelle Mead

Goodreads link: Bloodlines

bloodlines_novel

Summary: Sydney is an alchemist, she and the other alchemists know of the vampire world. The only difference is that they are trying to save humanity from every kind of vampire, even the Moroi. In their eyes, all kinds of vampires are bad. Ever since Sydney came back from helping Rose Hathaway escape prison, her family and the other alchemists think she’s become friends with the vampires -something highly disloyal. When Sydney’s sister Zoë gets called up for something she isn’t ready for, Sydney takes her place. It means living with Lissa’s sister, Jill Manestro on campus of a private school, and making sure she stays hidden from anyone. Together with Keith (another alchemist, someone she really hates), Adrian (a Moroi) and Eddie (a dhampir), she tries to keep Jill off the radar -which is harder than it seems.

Ahhh how I missed this world in the few weeks that I haven’t read about it. I wonder what I’ll do when I read the last book of this series too. Oh well, before that happens I still have 5 more books to go 🙂

This story was off to an interesting start, since I only read about Sydney in the Vampire Academy series, and those were mostly about Rose so Sydney is kind of a whole new person for me. I was really curious about the alchemists and what they do exactly.

First of all, I love Sydney. I already loved her when she was helping Rose through the books, but now I love her even more. She was being all about rules and such, and still bonded with vampires (of which dhampirs and strigoi) to help Rose escape prison, and off with all the rules she had. Now, it’s kind of the same. She is helping Jill, but at the same time befriending her and Adrian, and to be honest, Eddie too. I haven’t read much about the both of them, but I hope I will in the next books

Keith and Lee are assholes. There. I said it. But they are, and I am glad they got what they deserved at the end of the book. I wonder if I’ll see Keith again in the next books, that would surely be interesting to read!

Jill seemed really naïve sometimes, but then I remembered she is technically still a child. She may be princess, but she’s still underage, which explained a lot of her behavior. I think she’ll grow a lot in the books, or at least, I hope so. She is really cool and I think she’ll make good decisions.

Adrian is everything you’d expect from him if you read Vampire Academy. His relationship with Rose is over, so he’s back to smoking, he still drinks a lot (too much, even), and his is charming self. I see something growing between Sydney and Adrian, which is obviously not possible but love overcomes everything in the end, right? 😛 I felt really bad for Adrian at the end of the book (of course, with the last line, Mead strikes again) when Dimitri came in, I wonder how that’ll turn out.

Overall I thought this book was amazing, the story is intriguing, and, of course, it has a lot of plot twists. I wouldn’t expect anything else from Richelle Mead. I’m starting the next book right after I’m done writing this so yay! This will be an interesting series to read 🙂

Did you read this book or the Vampire Academy series? Tell me what you thought!

-Luci


Find me on:

3 thoughts on “Book review: Bloodlines”

Leave a Reply

