Book review: Legend (Legend 1)

Second series I wanted to finish in December, and I must say, it’s going quite well. Maybe it’s because I just loved this book, making me curious what happens in the next one.

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Goodreads link: Legend

 

I have read this book before, I just didn’t read the next two. And, much like other series I’ve started and never ended, I didn’t even remember what happened, so that called for a reread!

legend_marie_lu_book_cover

Summary: What used to be the west of the United States of America is now called the Republic. June is a 15-year-old girl, and a prodigy, She’s the Republic’s favorite, and she knows she is. Day, on the other hand, is also 15, and the most-wanted criminal of the Republic. When he gets accused for the murder on June’s brother, June promises she’ll find him and kill him for what he did.

I thought this was a great book. I know it is a dystopian book, and, to be really honest, almost all dystopian books are the same. The same plot, the same love triangle, the same everything. However, somehow this one was slightly different. The love at the first sight was there (which I actually can’t really stand because who falls in love when just seeing someone??), but Day did have his own (very good) reasons for doing what he did.

June was a little bit too spoiled sometimes, which kind of bothered me. Even with her life as prodigy, she didn’t have her parents when she grew up. But that could be just me.

I would love to read more about Tess though, she is a lovely character and the way she handles things makes me want to know more about her! Day and she are the best together, and even though they’re living on the streets, they seem to get out the best in everyone.

As for the cover, it doesn’t really bring out much in my opinion. It isn’t as bad as some other covers, but it’s something I’d look at and think wow I need to read that!

Overall, it was a pretty awesome book and I’m definitely reading the second one!

And what do you think? Do you like this series?

-Luci


Find me on:

4 thoughts on “Book review: Legend (Legend 1)”

Leave a Reply

