Music review: Revolution Radio

I’ve always had a dream of running a blog where I would have a weekly album review on Sunday… I might actually do just that 🙂


On October 7th 2016, something magical happened: Green Day released a new album called Revolution Radio. It has been 4 years since the last albums in 2012, Uno, Dos, and Tré. The single Bang Bang was released on August 11th, before the album title was even revealed. The tracks Revolution Radio and Still Breathing were already released throughout September, getting all the fans enthusiastic. It sounded like the “old Green Day”, like the way they sounded on the album American Idiot. I, too, got really excited for the new album. Not because I only like the old Green Day (I love everything about them to be honest), but also because a new album was not only really awesome but also meant a new tour.

From Left to Right: Mike Dirnt, Billie Joe Armstrong and Tré Cool

Track list:

  1.  Somewhere Now
  2. Bang Bang
  3. Revolution Radio
  4. Say Goodbye
  5. Outlaws
  6. Bouncing Off The Wall
  7. Still Breathing
  8. Youngbloood
  9. Too Dumb To Die
  10. Troubled Times
  11. Forever Now
  12. Ordinary World

This album is a lot different from the previous trilogy, and it actually does sound a lot more like American Idiot. However, it’s not the same. American Idiot is a lot angrier, and while Revolution Radio still has an important message in it, the way it is addressed has changed.

As lead singer Billie Joe Armstrong said, the album is meant to reflect the current state of violence in the United States. Bang Bang is is about “the culture of mass shooting that happens in America mixed with narcissistic social media.”

As for the songs, some are the hard rock we know from Green Day, and some (like Ordinary World) are just beautiful and slow. That doesn’t take away the power they have though. They really put their energy into this album and they did a wonderful job on it.

My favorite songs on the album are Still Breathing and Revolution Radio. The energy I get from Revolution Radio is amazing, and the lyrics from Still Breathing get me every time. My favorite songs can change though, it happens a lot.

Now, as I was expecting: a new album meant another tour and they’re finally coming to my country (The Netherlands) again! The last time they were here was in 2013, on Pinkpop. Sadly, I was not allowed to go to concerts back then 😦  The day of ticket sale I sat behind my laptop 15 minutes before it began, all ready to fight for those tickets. And, good news, I got them!!


I have been a fan of Green Day since I was about 12 years old so this is like a dream coming true, I am already so excited for January 31st 😀 3 more months now!

Have you heard the album? What do you think? Do you have favorite songs? Or do you want me to review a specific album? Tell me in the comments! 🙂 


Find me on:


One thought on “Music review: Revolution Radio”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s