Movie review: It’s kind of a funny story

Oh yes, it’s finally time for a review. This time, a movie that may not be as known as most others, but still, a very good one!

Links open in a new tab

WARNING: THIS MOVIE CONTAINS DEPRESSED AND SUICIDAL THOUGHTS

I downloaded this movie with the idea that it’d be a chick flick. Yes, I know, chick flicks are my huge guilty pleasure. Now, it didn’t exactly turn out to be that, but I still loved it a lot.

tumblr_o78ilklcbd1v3ieujo1_500

Synopsis: Craig  (Keir Gilchrist) has been feeling depressed for a while, and one day, he decides to check himself into a adult psychiatric ward. He hopes they can cure him within a day (he’s got school on Monday after all), but then he hears he has to stay there for at least 10 days. In the beginning, he spends most of the time wondering what he hell he’s doing there and how he so much doesn’t belong there. However, he gets the chance of a new start, and he even manages to make friends. In the end, it all doesn’t seem to be that bad any more.

My thoughts while watching this movie were mostly among the lines of why is this so relatable. I, myself, have been quite depressed lately, and for some reason this entire movie felt like it was written about my life. It was a really good movie, and not at all what I expected it to be.

The characters also all felt like they weren’t really characters, it felt more of a documentary of a few days in a teen’s life than a movie, which is, in my opionion, a pretty huge compliment.

As I said, I thought this would be a chick flick, meaning, romantic, probably funny as well, and with a happy ending for most. When this movie does have a happy ending, and also quite some humor in it, it is not at all romantic or any of that sort. It’s pretty serious actually, showing the part of depression where you just don’t want to do anything any more.

You may think it’s a really sad movie, seen as what’s it actually about, but it isn’t particularly sad either. It simply states some facts but keeps it on a light tone. I’d recommend this movie to almost everyone, except if you get triggered by mentions of depression or suicidal thoughts. The suicidal part isn’t that present, but this warning is just in case. If you do get triggered by any of those mentions, please reconsider watching this movie and take care of yourself.

After I watched the movie, I searched up some quotes I wanted to save and actually found out it’s based on a book (*punishes self for not finding the book before the movie*) and I promise, I’ll try and find it somewhere, read it, and review it!

Have any of you seen this movie, read the book, or any others like this? What’d you think? What’s your opinion on movies like these? Let me know!

-Luci


Find me on:

 

2 thoughts on “Movie review: It’s kind of a funny story”

Leave a Reply

