Series review: The Selection

Okay, so I once read book 1 one of the Selection series, and I promised I’d read the other ones as well, and also leave a review so.. here it is!

Note: this review contains spoilers for all the books of the Selection series

Links are opened in a new tab

I’ve been away for a while, and I really need to start blogging again, so let’s begin.

Series: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Goodreads Links: The Selection The Elite The One The Heir The Crown


Book one: The Selection

10507293

As some of you may know: I have already reviewed this book here. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t exactly love it either, so I decided I’d read the second and maybe third book too, hoping it’d get better

 

Book two: The Elite

16248068

Summary: What once started as a group of 35 girls is now slimmed down to just the elite: 6 girls. While prince Maxon makes it clear he really does like America, America is still struggling whether she should choose between prince Maxon or Aspen, her first love.

Well, to answer my last question: it didn’t really. This book had somewhat more serious problems, yet they were all solved just as easy, making it seem kinda fake.

 

Book three: The One

15844362

Summary: Now that the attacks of the people outside the walls get more vicious, America realizes how much she will have to fight for the life she wants. She never thought she’d ever win her way to prince Maxon’s heart, but now that she’s there, it seems impossible to ever go away from him.

This book seemed better in some ways, worse in others. Still the same drama everywhere, yet things really started to get serious too.

 

Book four: The Heir

tumblr_ndwog3pmp61qbahz2o1_250

Summary: This book goes about princess Eadlyn, daughter of Maxon and America. Having no interest in anything like Maxon and America did, she wants to put off marriage as long as possible. Sadly, as a princess, that’s not possible so her parents force her to have her own selection. One that she is undoubtedly going to ruin. Until things don’t go as she expects them to, and she finds herself uncertain.

I don’t know whether this book  was as bad or worse than the past three books. This series itself may have been really successful, but this is just really milking out the story. I paused halfway through the book and actually never picked it up again. Maybe I will again, someday, but for now I’m done with this series.

 

Book five: The Crown

The_Crown_Cover

Since I left halfway The Heir, I didn’t read Te Crown, and therefore no review. Sorry for that.


 

OverallI read about this series and already thought “Will I even like this?” but then it became so popular, I decided to give it a try. Maybe I had assumed wrong, maybe this series wasn’t the way I thought it was. Sadly, I really, really didn’t like it. I tried, I read the first 3 books and half of the 4th but I couldn’t get myself to read further when there were so much (in my opinion) better books waiting for me!

There were some points where I thought the writing could go deeper, if you understand what I’m trying to say. All the things, all the “problems”, I felt like they were too simplistic. I would’ve loved it if there was more about the people outside the walls (yes, I know that happened in either book 3 or 4, but not enough to my liking).

For everyone who did like this series: please don’t be offended. I’m not trying to hate on it, I just don’t like the books, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t. Be free in what you like and don’t let anyone tell you that it’s wrong to like something if others hate it.

Anyways, I tried, and I failed. Next time, I’ll review something that I like 🙂

What did you think? Did you love this series? Hated them? Please let me know what you thought of it in the comments

Until next time!

-Luci


Find me on:

4 thoughts on “Series review: The Selection”

  1. I love this series its one of my favorites but i know alot of people dont like it. I love it for all the reasons you dont. But i completely get its major flaws.

    Like

Leave a Reply

