Book review: We Were Liars

I heard a lot of things about this book so when I saw it in my library I immediately took it and GOSH THIS BOOK. IT’S AMAZING. THE ENDING. I CAN’T.

Note: this review doesn’t contain any (too) huge spoilers for the book

Links open in a new tab


 

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE

At first I thought it’d be hard to read this book entirely, because the sentences are way different from I was used to. They’re short, and sometimes start with “I” a few times in a row. Then, I read on and I pretty much couldn’t stop any more. The story is amazing, and one time I actually thought I knew what was gonna happen, it went the exact opposite of what I thought.

91cMHG1mVaL

Summary: Cadence Sinclair spends every summer with her entire family on the huge island they own.Together with Mirren, Johnny (her cousins) and Gat (Johnny’s friend, who becomes her boyfriend later) she spends summer after summer after summer there. She calls the four of them the Liars. And then summer 15 (the 15th year she’s been there) happens, the summer of the accident. She is found seriously injured in the water, and she doesn’t remember anything except small details of the accident. She also suffers from migraine, which is not helping her any further. In summer 16, her dad takes her on a trip to Europe, and no matter what she says, she isn’t allowed to go back to the island. In summer 17, she is allowed to go for 4 weeks, and when she gets back, everyone, including the Liars, acts differently around her. No one wants to tell her more of her accident, saying she should remember it by herself. And when she does, it’s worse than she thought.

Author: E. Lockhart

Goodreads link: We Were Liars


When I started this book it was 4.30 am, and I thought “I’ll read a bit and maybe I’ll be able to fall asleep”. When I finished this book, it was 6am and the only thing I could think was “DO NOT SCREAM OUT LOUD DO NOT SCREAM OUT LOUD DO NOT SCREAM OUT LOUD”. I think I may accidentally have made some sounds during that thinking, because holy shit, that was amazing. I had no idea how it would end, yet this was so unexpected!

I do not know if this is true, but I heard a movie will be coming soon, and I really hope the movie will be as good as the book. If it does come out, I’ll for sure be watching it, and of course review it for you!

Overall: Amazing book, I wish I could delete it from my mind and read it all over again.

 

Have you read it? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

-Luci


Find me on:

One thought on “Book review: We Were Liars”

Leave a Reply

