Book review: The Selection

Note: This review contains spoilers for the first book of the The Selection series

Links open in a new tab


 

I was really busy writing a series review, but I got distracted, I needed to do this first.

I had seen the hype all over the Facebook group I’m in (“Young adults boeken en series<3“, for the Dutchies here), and I found The Selection and The Elite in the library, so I got them. Now, I know I can’t base my opinion on other people, but that many positive posts got me excited.

Let me just say, I started reading the first chapter, and I already knew what was gonna happen. That happened to me with more books, and of course it’s not all that bad. Sometimes it happens the way I thought it would, and sometimes it’s a complete surprise for me. Both are fine.

Yet, with this book, I just couldn’t help but be disappointed. It’s written pretty well, I didn’t have any troubles reading it (even better, I read it in 2 hours), it just didn’t keep me on the edge of my seat.

Summary: America Singer gets Selected to go with 34 other girls to the palace of prince Maxon and fight for his love. She just got out of a secret relationship with a boy from a lower caste, and tries to forget about him during her time at the palace. During her time there, she starts a friendship with Maxon, but then it turns out they actually do like each other. While still thinking about her feelings for Maxon, America suddenly sees Aspen, her ex, in the palace as a guard. Aspen admits he never stopped loving her, and now she needs to choose between the very handsome prince Maxon or her 2 -year-old boyfriend Aspen.

Author: Kiera Cass

Goodreads link: The Selection

 

Now, I know there are more books like this one, and I’ve loved a lot of them, but The Selection was just a tad bit too cliché for me I think. I knew Maxon and America were gonna fall for each other eventually, I just didn’t think it’d happen within only one book. I wasn’t really surprised Aspen had appeared in the palace too – one way or another, it had to happen. The rebellion attacks are something that don’t seem to fit in the book somehow. I really hope there will be more detail about those attacks in the next book(s).

Overall: I don’t see why people love this series so much, but maybe I need to wait with my opinion till I read further. So, I am gonna read the second book (The Elite), and see what I think about that one.

Please let me know what you thought of The Selection!

See y’all next time!

-Luci


Find me on:

10 thoughts on “Book review: The Selection”

  1. I’m always fascinated to read reviews of the Selection as so many people seem to love it but it’s one series I almost gave up on partway through the second book. It is very readable as far as the writing goes but I didn’t particularly like any of the characters. Can’t wait to see what you think of the Elite.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I read the second book, and I’m currently still deciding wheter to read the 3rd one too or not. On one side, it got somewhat more interesting and on the other side, it still has the same writing style. But knowing me, I’ll probably be reading it because I am not really good at giving up on books 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For me the second book was the poorest of the series so it’s worth reading the third just for the ending. I’m currently trying to convince myself to read The Heir. I’ve heard the MC is even more annoying than America though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

