Movie review: Vampire Academy

Note: This review contains spoilers for the movie and first book of the Vampire Academy series

Links open in a new tab

 

Vampire Academy is based on the first book of the series by Richelle Mead

The_covers_of_the_six_Vampire_Academy_books.jpg

I read the books 2 years ago, so I can’t really compare the movie to them. That’s not a big problem, because well, most comparisons aren’t really positive for the movies when coming from me. However, I did have some critical thoughts while watching it.

Synopsis: There are 4 kind of people: Moroi (full vampire), Dhampir (half-vampire, half-human), Strigoi (evil, un-dead vampires) and humans. Moroi need to be protected from Strigoi, which is what the Dhampirs are for. Humans are mainly just a source of food. Moroi Vasilisa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) and her guardian and best friend, Dhampir Rose Hathaway (Zoey Deutch) have left the school a year ago, but now they’re found and brought back, causing a lot of trouble. Lissa starts to get anonymious threats, making her scared, while Rose gets private training, to catch up what she’s missed during the time they were away, from Dmitri Belikov (Danila Kozlovsky). When Lissa gets kidnapped by Victor Dashkov (Gabriel Byrne), Rose and Dmitri try to save her.

First of all: this movie was pretty awesome, and it really surprised me. The plotline makes sense, and there’s a lot of action in it.

Lissa and Rose are quite how I imagined them after the books. Dmitri was a complete surprise. I thought he’d be crazy hot, but in my opinion, he’s not all that hot in the movie. I also hoped for somewhat more action between Rose and Dmitri, but maybe that’s because I read the entire series.

The bond between Lissa and Rose became very clear during the movie, which made me really happy, because that’s one of the most important things during the entire series.

Overall: It was awesome, I wouldn’t watch it again, but this is really recommendable. It made me want to read the books again, which I’m surely gonna do soon!

Did you see the movie and/or read the books? What did you think? Let me know!

See ya!

-Luci


Find me on:

2 thoughts on “Movie review: Vampire Academy”

Leave a Reply

