Movie review: City of Bones

Note: This review contains spoilers for the movie and the first three books (City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass) in the The Mortal Instruments series.

Links open in a new tab


So since I read all the books, I decided to watch the movie. I heard some good and some bad things about it, and it made me really curious.

Synopsis: Clary Fray (Lilly Collins) starts seeing a strange symbol everywhere, but no one else can see it. When she and her best friend Simon Lewis (Robert Sheenan) go to a nightclub, she sees Jace Wayland (Jamie Campbell) killing another man, and yet again, she’s the only one seeing it. Later, Clary talks to Jace, but gets interrupted by her mother, who keeps calling her. She runs home, but she’s too late and instead of her mother, she finds a demon waiting for her. After Jace saves her by killing it, he takes her and Simon to the Institute where they meet Jace’s brother Alec (Kevin Zegers) and sister Isabelle (Jemina West) Lightwood. Together with them, Hodge (Jared Harris), and her mother’s friend Luke Garroway (Aidan Turner), Clary goes on a search for her mother  and the ‘Valentine’ she’s warned Clary for.

IMDB link: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

I think that if you haven’t read the books, this movie is pretty awesome, the storyline makes sense, there’s action, there’s romance… Everything you look for in a movie, right?

When I started it, I thought it was cool at the beginning, except that I had a totally different image of Jace and Alec in my head. It happens to me more often when I read a book first, and then watch a movie, but this Jace wasn’t even that hot (in my opinion)! Then, the part where Clary goes home and finds a demon happened, and I got excited again. Until Jace found her, and killed the demon for her. In the books, Clary killed the demon herself, and that’s how Jace knew for sure she was one of them.

Simon is another personage I had imagined way differently, but after all, he was the one who fitted most into the books. What I didn’t understand is why Simon wasn’t turned into a rat in the movie, like he did in the books. I understand it must be quite hard to film a rat, but a few shots would’ve been enough for me.

Magnus Bane  was pretty on-point, although he looked like he was drunk, only wearing a shirt and underpants, and I missed a lot of glitter in his hair.

Overall: I did enjoy the movie, when I stopped thinking about the books while watching it. I can’t expect every movie to follow the book exactly, but it seemed to me that they tried to put the whole first three books into one movie, making the plotline confusing sometimes.

TV-show: Since a few weeks, the TV-series Shadowhunters is playing, and I’m planning on watching (and reviewing!) that too.

-Luci


Find me on:

Leave a Reply

